Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Soldering 4mm diam. silver bangle-Help!

Angry Soldering 4mm diam. silver bangle-Help!

Hi
    I'm new to soldering and trying, not very successfully, to learn out of books. I have a Sievert pro86 soldering kit with all the usual nozzles but whatever I try I can't get the above bangle up to soldering temperature. 2bar and propane. The bangle is held in a wood fitting (ie not a heat sink) and the seam is in 'free air' ie it is held vertically rather than laying horizontal. I don't know whether I'm trying to heat too much mass for that type of soldering system or if my technique is wrong. I am heating the seam at the tip of the blue innercone of the flame- which I believe is correct. Could the solution be to lay the work horizontally- does this generate much more heat by reflection?
    Thanks to anyone who can help.

Could you put a picture in your picture gallery (available from your profile)
    Not sure what you're trying to get to solder...
    Nic xx
    Monthly FREE entry giveaways on Blogs!
    Shop Blog: http://muranosilver.blogspot.com/
    Silver Clay Blog: http://pmctips.blogspot.com/
    View images of my work on Flickr: http://www.flickr.com/photos/muranosilver

I think you might get better results working flat, using a charcoal block or soldering mat to get more heat reflected back onto the piece. Raise the area being joined very slightly with a piece of copper or iron wire and start by heating the whole piece before concentrating on the areas either side of the join. You should be able to heat this size of wire enough with a propane only torch. Alternatively, use a tripod and wire mesh to allow you to heat from above and below more efficiently. Using any holding mechanism will stop the heat from flowing freely throughout the piece - I suspect I'd just set fire to a wooden fitting!

Default 4mm bangle soldering

Hi