Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Rock tumbler for rocks & cleaning jewellery

Question Rock tumbler for rocks & cleaning jewellery

Hi Guys,

Having looked through my new book on wire wrapping it suggests buying a rock tumbler for cleaning jewellery. (I'm also keen on using some lovely stones I found in my back garden and wonder if I can use the same piece of kit for this as well?)

If so, thats lovely, as I can justify buying one piece of kit to do two jobs ... Can any of you recommend one I could buy that is good for a complete beginner, but won't costafortune please?

I've had a quick look on the Cooksons site, but no luck.

Thanks a lot
    Jules x

It's how I use mine. I have different drums for tumbling with shot - they have fins inside to encourage the shot to drop on the jewellery. Mine's a Beach IIRC - nothing fancy or expensive, but mostly works.

Except on the days the end caps leak, when I swear at it. I run it in a tray as a precaution...

You can use the same tumbler, but it's important to keep the media completely separate. The grits you use for polishing stones and sea glass are very different to the steel shot for metal barrelling/tumbling. Most people who do both keep separate barrels for the two different jobs.

My main recommendation is that unless you have a very large or separate space, try to get rubber barrels. The plastic ones are extremely noisy - especially for tumbling stones, which can take weeks.

I have a lortone 3a. Not the cheapest machine, and not the most expensive either, but I researched for a long time and decided it was the one for me. I've never regretted that decision!

The Lortones are very nice... Thought about it, but went for the inexpensive Beach due to the level of anticipated use. The noise doesn't bother me because it's in the workshop, far from anywhere peaceful.