Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: The process of making sterling jewellery

Default The process of making jewellery

As a beginner, I have been reading a couple of books on the subject. What I would like to know is not only that I should do something a certain way, but why.

For example, I've heard of hard solder medium solder and easy solder in pallions, but have also had a go at using solder from a syringe - what would be the reasons for using either?

I'm probably asking the impossible, but it would be great if a flow-chart of ways of making jewellery existed somewhere, so that I can gain more of an understanding of the why's and wherefore's of each process. I've had a go at Googling it, but no luck....

Am I making sense, or shall I get my coat now..?
    Last edited by Petal; 17-12-2009 at 07:30 PM.
    Jules

Jules, stay away from that coat rack and stick by your workbench!!!

Unfortunately, I don't think you'll ever find the flowchart you're after as making jewellery is often down to basic methods mixed with experience of what works for you. Don't be afraid to experiment. As far as the solder question goes I think the use of pallions or paste via syringe is down to personal preference. I know I've stuck with paste as it's less faffing with cutting pallions and flux - but you still get the same end result of joining ends together.

Have you had a look at the Cookies knowledgbase at Jewellery Making - Articles, Datasheets Hints & Tips. I'm sure that will answer alot of your questions.

I'm sure you'll also find a lot of info on this forum too as there are some very friendly knowledgeable people on here.

Fi
    Fi Wilson
    Flickr

Just noticed that you're a senior member of the forum but you're saying you're a newbie to jewellery making. Hope what I've just said wasn't patronising . Forgive me if it was!!!!
    Fi Wilson
    Flickr

Quote Originally Posted by indigoblue View Post