Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: My Work in Progress

Default My Work in Progress

I don't know if I'm suffering from a lack of confidence or I've just got the heebee geebeies because this is the first time I've tried to produce something purely to sell, but I can't settle on the final design for this piece, even after 3 days of trying.

I think I'm in need of a little critical assessment. I may be quite good at making roses but as a designer I've got a long way to go, there have been a couple of times over the last few days where I've thought I'm an idiot for thinking I can make a living out of this even though I love doing it.

There are two versions at the moment, both below, but neither one of them gives me that little sigh of satisfaction.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	WIP 1.jpg 
Views:	47 
Size:	26.5 KB 
ID:	676

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	WIP5.jpg 
Views:	45 
Size:	28.9 KB 
ID:	677

Ah well!
    Annie xXx

All things are possible - if you look at them the right way!

Okay, Annie, its the middle of the night and I'm the only one around so I'll venture an opinion - or rather a couple of observations. I am far from a design guru tho
    1. The first thing to strike me was the very 'balancedness' of the design. I personally would never use four of the same thing in a piece. To me, four is all about stability - its very static, design needs movement. When your eye alights on the four-square roses, it just stays there, not moving up or down to the rest of the design but just sort of stuck.
    2. A similar observation could be made about the two roses - the eye travels back and forth but just between the two roses.
    3. All the beads are more or less the same size - something else that causes the design to sort of stand still
    4. Now - a difference, but one I think that shouldn't exist! For me, the wrapping on your lampie is out of kilter with the coils - I would either use larger gauge wire or double wrap there