Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: A tool for rivetting

Default A tool for rivetting

Hi all

I did a one to one class on rivetting many many months ago [so all knoweldge is now fading fast] and want to get back into it. I want to make small silver versions of my cloud brooches using small mother of pearl buttons, or shirt buttons and so want to rivet the buttons to a cut out cloud shape using silver tubing.

Not done any rivetting with tube before really. Are there any tools out there that are specific to rivetting using tube or do I have to use a hammer and just bang away gently.

I was looking at lampwork beads the other day and noticed alot of them lined with silver and wondered how that was acheived and my curiosity lead me here - has anyone used this kind of tool and is there something similar for rivetting samll items.

Any adive on rivetting with tube would be very welcome as I'm a total novice and really want to try out my ideas.

Ta
    Find Milomade online - follow the links below....
    Website | Instagram

I just use a hammer and an appropriate sized doming punch (e.g. 999_764_ ) to rivet tubes. I assume there are tools more specific to the task, but the punches are more than adequate for me.
    Lucinda

I haven't seen them myself but a fellow jeweller told me that those silver lined beads are made with 2 pieces of silver that slot into the bead from both sides and are glued into place.

I wondered how they got such big flanges on those things by riveting...without smashing the bead to pieces!

hey...just a thought, having looked at the origional version...is it possible you could thread them on with thin, fine silver wire and knot it, like the origional version?

If your using mop buttons or similar, even riveting tube may cause then to crack.....