View Poll Results: Which Book should I read next ?

Voters
24. You may not vote on this poll
  • T.Mcreight Fundementals of Metalsmithing

14 58.33%
  • T MCreight Precious Metal Clay Techniques

4 16.67%
  • Other Book

6 25.00%
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Good book anyone ?

Smile Good book anyone ?

I've just finished a Jinks McGrath Book (Jewellery Making a complete course for beginners), - a really good read, good layout, easy to read and I liked the step by step processes. A good starting point for anybody new to making.

Has anybody got any recommendations for my next read... I work in silver, attended a short course, and can now follow basic instructions, but I am still learning.
    Are the books by Tim Mcrieght any good, or are there better ones out there ?
    Last edited by bead27; 25-06-2009 at 03:43 PM.

Default Good book

"Jewellery Making Techniques" - Elizabeth Olver

clear layout, nice clean designs, easy to follow instructions.

I like The Complete Book of Jewelry Making: A Full-color Introduction to the Jeweler's Art by Charles Codina.

If you've got a Borders bookshop near you they normally have pretty good jewellery sections. I've been known to spend hours sat cross-legged on their floor choosing books!

Default Enamelling Book - Beginners Guide

Just read a new title - Beginners Guide to Enamelling by d. cockrell.
    ONLY £8 - loved it. I've never really done an awful lot of cold enamelling - but this has inspired me to have a right good go. I'd stay away from the vitreous to start with - the cold technique seems much more realistic.

I have the Jinks McGrath and the Elizabeth Olver ones - both very good for a beginner.

I have The Complete Metalsmith by Tim McCreight. It's a useful bench reference with basic info on lots of things like metal properties, techniques, gemstone types, workshop set-up. I am planning to get his book on Hot & Cold Connections next