Thread: To colour or not to colour - that is the question

Default To colour or not to colour - that is the question

I am looking to add some colour to my silver work but I don't have time or the head space to master a complicated art at the moment. I really only want to do some simple colour blocks at the moment.

I'm no artist so any fancy designs are way outside my skill set; it'll be a couple of colours max on a piece.

Efcolor is the obvious choice but being a plastic based resin it seems out of place on sterling silver jewellery. Has anyone used it and does it look OK or does it look cheap?

"Proper" enamelling seems to have a much higher barrier to entry (although I do have a suitable kiln). Can you learn without classes?

I quite fancy the ceramic coating but it seems you need to send the pieces away to be done and I'm a bit too spontaneous in my jewellery making to be that organised.

Any thoughts or recommendations?

Hi Caroline nothing to do with enamelling, but more to do with adding natural colour to silver, I thought I’d mention something I saw a long time ago. I met an artist who was setting small pieces of shaped copper to their silver work, mostly in a cabochon style setting as well as riveting. They had coloured their copper shapes with blue patina using salt and ammonia, and it looked stunning. The blue, green, aqua, turquoise colours were very vivid and unique looking and contrasted well against the silver. Do explore glass enamelling, bit of a massive subject but easy to get started with, if kept simple the results can be very satisfying … good luck with it … N
    Last edited by nicks creative stuff; 04-08-2023 at 09:20 PM.

Just like you Caroline, there came a time when I would have liked more colour in my work. Painting onto silver would have done it a disservice, unless using proper fired enamel.
    So I spent a whole term at college trying to teach myself, and also went on a weeks course. It became obvious that I was going nowhere fast.