Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Piercing saws, electric

Default Piercing saws, electric

Hi, I am fairly new to silversmithing. However, I have decided my chosen route is going to include a great deal work with a piercing saw. I am getting slowly better, but I am now thinking that I could save a lot of time with a powered piercing saw, but I have yet to find such an item on the internet. I found the odd Dremel saw, but I am not sure they are what I'm looking for, i.e. sawing patterns into 1.5mm silver sheet.

I would welcome any comments and advice.

Kind regards,
    Larry Gordon

I guess it depends how big your items are, I would recommend just sticking to your saw once you get a bit more used to it it will be quicker to cut them messing with powersaws. I had a demo at cooksons with the 100w laser that cut 1.5mm sheet but its very expensive. If its straight cuts you need to do maybe have a look at bench shears

Hi Larry, what you are searching for is a scroll saw. There are many available online, and often used for cutting out patterns in plywood, for instance jigsaw puzzles.

When it comes to piercing sheet metal, the blades available are rather thick, setting up is slow and fiddly, and of course one end has to be released each time you want to start on a new hole.

When I first began some 26 years ago, I splashed out on a Proxxon one, but got so fed up with that and the frequently broken blades that I soon put it on a top shelf and let it gather dust ever since.

The truth is that professionals just learn to improve their skills, and sometimes upgrade their frame to a Knew product, which they say is kinder to their wrist.

What has helped me for intricate piercing is to have a large flat fancy bench peg, like the biggest one here https://www.cousinsuk.com/search?sea...%20bench%20peg

Eventually also used for my acrylics. Dennis.

Quote Originally Posted by Dennis View Post