Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: scratch or crack in stone

Default scratch or crack in stone

Hi everyone! I just finished bezel setting a Natural Cacoxenite (Super Seven) Gemstone. (Please don't judge my bezel setting - this is only my second one and I'm just learning.) I noticed there is a scratch or crack in the stone and I have absolutely no idea how it got there. (I did have to file a tiny bit of the edge of the stone for it to fit into my bezel.... maybe that cracked it?) I can feel it with my fingernail. Is there anything I can do to save this stone? Thanks for your help!
    Cindy
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails IMG_4056.jpg   IMG_4060.jpg   IMG_4059.jpg  

If the stone is cracked the only way to save it is, remove from setting and recut to a smaller stone, if it is a scratch it could be polished out either way it will have to come out of the setting.

It does look as if this defect was there before you started, and became more prominent under pressure when setting.

The stone needs to be unset, by passing the point of a scalpel between it and the collet, lightly and all the way round , multiple times, until it is free enough to remove with heavy sticky tape of the kind to hang pictures.

I'm sorry, but the rest is all bad news:
    Having the stone professionally recut will be expensive and much reduce it's value, so probably not worth it. In time you will have a collection of these.
    The likelyhood of finding a new stone on line, that will fit well enough is slim, so a new bezel will probably be needed.

Shoot the messenger. Dennis

I was afraid this would be all bad news.... bummer. I like the stone and I hate to waste the setting. The stone is an odd size, so even if I'm able to remove it, I won't find a stone that will fit this setting. Just in case it's a scratch that is not too deep, is there any method that could sand/buff it out?