Thread: Micro spot welder…..

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Default Micro spot welder…..

Any advice or recommendations? I am considering one of these for very small chain / jump ring and other very small work. There appears to be a large range, especially in price! From £ hundreds to a score or so. I only want one capable of very small work as I have said.
    David.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

No idea, but I often wondered whether they could be used to tack complex pieces together prior to soldering. Dennis.

Thanks Dennis. Yes another possible use. Almost worth a gamble as I have seen them for sale at less than £30!
    Come on “others”…….!!!! Let’s have your opinions!
    David.

I've no practical experience of these but I have some observations, not opinions.

The mini spot welders use copper electrodes I don't think these would be of any use for gold and silver tig I think you would require a tungsten electrode.
    The mini spot welders do not produce much of a spark so should not be of any major health and safety issue, tig has a large spark.
    The mini spot welders do not use an inert gas, I think you would need an inert gas for precious metal tig welding.
    The mini spot welders don't have remote triggering(a foot pedal) I think this would be useful.

I've seen some posts on one of the Facebook groups about the "Sparkle" type machines for use with chain making and seem to be successful but I have questions about the health and safety for the eyes.