Thread: Twisiting Sheet Metal

Default Twisiting Sheet Metal

Here goes with my first question - be gentle with me as I am a complete novice and new to silversmithing. Apologies if it has been asked before - I have looked on here and can't find anything.

I have been inspired by a bracelet that I own to make somethign similar myself. I would like to 'twist' or 'curl' sheet metal so that it can either hang as a pendant or be threaded on to cord (to make a necklace). If I have done it right you should see a couple of images to give you an idea of what I am hoping to achieve. Any tips gratefully received

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	twisted 1.JPG 
Views:	29 
Size:	28.9 KB 
ID:	13320Click image for larger version. 

Name:	twisted.JPG 
Views:	29 
Size:	24.0 KB 
ID:	13321

Yes, you're doing beautifully, and if you persevere with your experiments, you will end up with some unique pieces.

If you have not done so already, I would urge you to buy some copper sheet online so that you can indulge in more experiments without blowing your budget.
    It works similar to silver, but hardens more quickly, so will need frequent annealing. There are lots of options, just matter of finding the cheapest. https://www.amazon.co.uk/Copper-Shee...013472565&th=1

You might also consider getting a motor, so that you can finish the insides of small curves, possibly to a matte or satin look for contrast. Dennis.

Thanks Dennis

During my workshops I used both copper and silver during the workshops I attended but since setting myself up at home I have used mainly copper to experiment with. I did also buy a few lengths of silver wire to make bangles (which I did in a workshop). After several failed attempts and getting cross with myself I stuck with it and finally cracked it!

I did ask my tutor how to 'curl' silver or copper but we ran out of time hence why I'm asking here. Do you have any tips on how to do it?