Thread: Cleaning Old Tools

Question Cleaning Old Tools

Hi, I hope this is the right forum category for my question, so I apologise if it isn't (I'm new to this one!). I have some old doming punches which are rather rusty, so need cleaning. So, my question is - what is the best way of getting them nice and shiny again? I had a similar problem with some planishing blocks (sometimes called anvils or plates, I'm not sure of the official name!) but as they were flat could use buff paper. Any advice? Thanks.

Some very fine wet and dry paper with a spot of machine oil gets all the rust off and gently gets out any pits that the rust has made.

You should always leave a very thin smear of machine oil on metal tools to prevent rust or wrap them in an oily cloth.

My planishing block is wrapped in an old tea towel that I wiped the original machine oil off with and it keeps it all nice and shiny and rust free

Smile Thanks

I shall certainly give that a go, I have quite a few punches, so it'll be my mission to do at least two a day! Thanks again.

What I use depends upon how rusty they are...

Seriously rusty - scrape all the loose stuff off. Paint scraper, dull knife blade, whatever works.

which leads to...

Fairly rusty - a dunk overnight or as long as it takes in something like Hammerite Rust Remover (phosphoric acid is much more effective, but this stuff is more pleasant to work with).

leading on to...

Pitted? File or sand out pits if they affect the use of the tool (for doming punches, they will on the business end). Take them up to 320 or 600 grit (European) with wet & dry. Use a soft backing to the paper like a mousepad for rounded surfaces.

The rust remover will convert rust to Fe2O3, which is more stable (and tends to come off on your hands...). Kind of a tarnish.