Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Help - How to market my jewellery...

Default Help - How to market my jewellery...

Can anyone help me?

I've been making my own jewellery using silver plated findings and wire etc for some time now. I use this type of silver as its a cheaper practice alloy, simply as that.
    However I would now like to start selling my pieces more mainstream as I feel I'm now good enough using sterling silver wire and findings etc, but not sure how much more I could change per item? I'm a goos designer and makiner, but I lack knowledge in these areas suchas pricing and in particular marketing. Do buyers prefer cheaper silver plated stuff or the higher quality of sterling silver??? Should I invest in a website or stick to fairs???
    I personally would prefer my own jewellery in sterling silver, but guess it depends on my market, which perhaps I need to really identify.

Any help/advice would be greatly appreciated.

I'm interested in hearing from anybody, after all if we're not jewellers then we are consumers!

Smile I hope this helps?

Hi Dawny!
    In my experience if people are investing in a piece of lovely jewellery they wont mind spending that bit extra, so worth using sterling, I wouldnt worry about upping your price either...your upping your quality so it all ties in, you earn it including your cost of materials, hours spend (charge an hourly rate), uniqueness of your designs, overheads and anything else say time spend beach combing if you use found objects (like me!)

Fairs and shows are essentail to get out there show your face and meet your customers but an online presence is pretty important too. I have just set up my own site...(not sure about links rules on here yet, so i shall avoid for now) with a fab online host, very reasonably priced and all completely ujnder your control to design..extremely simple to use too.

I hope all of this helps.
    Best wishes

Hannah

Smile I hope this helps?

Hi Dawny!