Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: restoring Tin metal , what compounds should i get ?

Default restoring Tin metal , what compounds should i get ?

hi members , i have recently bought a item while not being Jewelry or a Watch it still falls into a catagory where you could help. I got this item for $44 AUD and it usually goes around the
    $230 AUD mark i don't plan on selling it i want to keep it. What is it ?........it is a Sepultura Tin CD Boxset , i will leave some attachment photos below. Quite simply it's rare and i've wanted one for
    some time , so this opportunity has come up and i want to restore it to excellent condition.

ok so i have sanded it down (240 grit) and removed imperfections and now i need to remove sanding scratches and polish it to a shine. It's my first time so i need some gentle guidance ,
    also i have made a Labanda account for products i need.

btw i will be using a Drill and a Dremel (i don't have a bench grinder) , i have seen on ebay in the link below. I'm hoping this will work with Jewelers Buffing Wheels

i found a Drill attachment on ebay that might work , i can't post links yet but you can search ebay for 'Tapered Mandrel,drill Attachment,tapered Spindle For Polishing,Moping,puffing'

can anyone suggest where i should go from here ? ..........like what compounds i need for Tin , the order i should use each color etc......

i have attached some pics of what a excellent condition Tin looks like , and i have attached my before and after sanding.

any help is appreciated , chat soon
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails w6xLlL.jpg   BnuNZ7.jpg   Screenshot_4.jpg   DSC02478 usm 90 1.0 4 sat 30 whte lev 247.jpg   DSC02545 usm 90 1.0 4 sat 30 whte lev 247.jpg  

Next step sand to 400 then 600 then 1200 then 1500 then 2000 then polish with Tripoli then white rouge, then finish with a cream type polish such as Reflection, then spray with a automotive clear coat.