Thread: Wire wrapped mens pendants... completely bad idea?

Default Wire wrapped mens pendants... completely bad idea?

Hi people,

I'm new to jewellery and have been making wire-wrapped mens pendants.

They are nothing special at all, just simple loops and ring type things.

I really enjoy the calm and logical thinking of wire-work, but...

I've recently noticed how easy it is for them to 'pluck' chest hairs and wondered if this is a complete killer for the whole idea / enterprise?

I don't wear pendants enough myself to know if jewellery plucking at chest hairs is a complete deal breaker or simply something that men who wear pendants know about and live with.

I have a tendency to panic a little and at the moment I'm wanting to just throw them all in the bin and stop with the wire-wrapping.

Sooooooo, does anyone have any common wisdom on the subject of wire-wrapped mens pendants?

Is occasional hair snagging simply a completely normal side effect and not something to get in a panic about?
    Or is wire-wrapped mens jewellery a well known no-no and a terrible idea?

Thanks in advance.:-)

Oh good question and I'll be lurking for the answer.

I've been asked to add a bail to a (male) friends stone. It's been pierced sideways (like a bead) rather than front to back and I was debating whether a wire wrapped mounting would be the way forward as I really don't want to be soldering anywhere near this stone. It's a chunky bit of rock and needs a substantial mount or it'll look odd

Not well-known to me, but if it started pulling out hairs I'd get fairly tired of it fairly quickly.

Quote Originally Posted by ps_bond View Post
    Not well-known to me, but if it started pulling out hairs I'd get fairly tired of it fairly quickly.
    Me too. :-(

In my head they would have been the kinds of pendants that you wear outside your t-shirt or whatever you are wearing. Is there a specific name for the kind of pendant that is meant to be seen, not tucked away?