Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Spring ends ... Help Please

Question Spring ends ... Help Please

I've been practicing these on and off for a couple of days now and its driving me I either get the spring ends too small, then I can't fit my thong into the end, or they are too large and when I press down on the spring to secure it - it looks cr!p... I imagine its just more practice, or am I squishing on the end too hard??? If I've missed a vital tip, I'd really appreciate it.

Here's the pics of my awful ends....

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	DSCF1336.jpg 
Views:	24 
Size:	19.8 KB 
ID:	346

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	DSCF1337.jpg 
Views:	23 
Size:	22.1 KB 
ID:	347

As usual, honest feedback please.

Thanks
    Jules

I've never done these before...but have just bought the multi looping pliers from Cooksons...which look like great fun. I had a play last night with a scrap of fine silver wire and can see they have great potential.

I don't know what I am talking about...but what gauge wire are you using? I was wondering if you would get a less flattened looking crimp to the end of the coil if the wire was a bit more robust...also - would it be possible to sort of turn the end of the coil wire in a bit before you squish so that it sort of impales the thong or lace as well as hugging it!!??

oooh thanks for the quick reply Bee ! I hadn't thought of turning the wire in before squishing! Do you like my techy terms there! Its .8mm wire BTW.

I think the air of desperation is because I've got 3 days to go before my next event and a lot of these to make - or not if they don't look any better than the one here...
    Last edited by Petal; 30-09-2009 at 03:57 PM. Reason: Forgot to thank Bee.
    Jules

I've just re-read a reply that Boo gave me when I originally asked how to make these.. and have realised that's exactly what she suggested

-------------------------------------------------------------------------