Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Attaching Clock hands

Default Attaching Clock hands

Hi everyone! I’m in the middle of a project I’ve actually been working off & on for years! I think it’s NEARLY there now. I have a silver base piece in the shape of a clock face which is etched in fine detail. I also have created tiny clock hands made of bronze. I used bronze for strength and also liked the contrast in colour. I want to attach the hands to the clock face - I’ve first tried ‘cheating’ by using tiny joining screws which do work ok but they don’t look the best and they are difficult to keep holding tight. Would doing a rivet be the best way? I’d like the hands to be moveable but also a sturdy enough join that it’s not likely to break apart. If a rivet (which I’m not too experienced at) would a bronze wire to match the hands be the best option? This will not be an actual working clock but I still thought it would be fun to be able to change the time to whatever the person wanted. Any advice would be hugely appreciated!

Hi Sandra, I think you have answered your own question a rivet would be my choice, I would use bronze as you say to match the colour, shape the front side to your liking then peen over the back side, until it is at the desired tension.
    When riveting, cut the length so it only has the minimum amount to peen over, makes the process easier.

Thanks China, sometimes I feel like a perpetual jewellery student as I don’t do jewellery-making regularly enough! I’m a member of “At the Bench’ and watched a few riveting videos today and realised this was one of my very first jewellery making techniques I learned years ago. So long ago now I’d nearly forgotten!

For delicate things my preference would be to use a tube rivet, which can be spread by inserting and rotating a scriber or needle and avoids the hammer. As Bob has said, keep it fairly short.