Thread: choosing polishing mops and compounds.

Default choosing polishing mops and compounds.

Hi,

I wondered if anyone may have some advice..
    I'm about to purchase a single speed polishing motor.

I would like to buy the correct mops and compounds.
    I work with silver and small amounts of gold, so I understand ill need rougher calico mops with tripoli, then sofetr mops .

Are there any mops and compounds that I should try to achieve a nice finish?

Thanks for reading

im also new to learning polishing skills and techniques, but have a look at the 3m radial discs
    https://www.moleroda.com/product/sma...scs-19mm-25mm/
    dont need compound to use with them

For a polishing motor I would go with black bristle brush, for the rough stage, a stitched calico mop for intermediate stage and a loose leaf swansdown mop for final stage
    every body has their favourite compounds a good start would be Dialux it is inexpensive and many jewellers swear by it.
    I have a different set of mops for each metal.
    3m discs are good for pre finish, they are expensive and require a pendant motor of some kind, personally I do not believe they will produce the quality of finish you will achieve with a polishing motor mops and compounds.

In many cases it’s a matter of preference for compounds. Some still use tripoli and rouge, some have moved on to luxi and others swear by menzerna. I’m thinking about trying the latter as I still go between the other depending what surface I’m polishing
    Like Bob I use a bristle brush for tripoli or luxi
    I use calico or have recently found the synthetic suede mops which I’ve found give a really good finish and don’t need the preparation required of new mops then a soft wool for a last finish

This is the finish I expect to get Click image for larger version. 

Name:	9A07ED32-9F61-42C7-8342-304EC74F7803.jpg 
Views:	9 
Size:	8.8 KB 
ID:	12445 Click image for larger version. 

Name:	A5DEDC32-9BD8-4506-89AF-B1FFF7D7B250.jpg