Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: My Life As A β Jeweller.

Default My Life As A β Jeweller.

I am an amateur jewellery maker, so I don’t sell to the rich and famous, or have a Royal Warrant. I just give it away to family and friends.

I don’t expect to receive a knighthood, or have a statue erected on Clerkenwell green.

But there is one thing I have discovered that you won’t find in textbooks, or taught at uni. In fact, when I have mentioned it here it has never raised a comment. It is a soldering trick.

If I have a lightweight, or wire construction, I find that by raising the overall temperature with a large but very soft flame, until the piece just threatens to glow in subdued light and hold it, I can use my minitorch selectively, to add more solder to a joint, or safely add collets one by one, without disturbing the rest.

No doubt this idea will die with me and be rediscovered some fifty year hence by someone who will claim it as their own. Good luck to them.
    Sorry about my finger in the example below. Dennis
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails 2ro Two Rings One Finger.jpg   3e 1 Three Pairs of Earrings.jpg   clp 2 The Silver Pendant sh.jpg   ss1 Solar System Necklace.jpg  
    Last edited by Dennis; 11-04-2020 at 09:48 AM.

I’m not sure I’ve seen that ring before Dennis, it’s wonderful. I always admire your intricate work. I no longer seem able to do fiddly and I find it hard enough to hold my old sievert let alone hold another one. Maybe this is the time to play with delicate and use that which will forever be called the Dennis method, although my sievert can’t be turned down to bushy. I had to replace my gas tank recently and gosh is it hot compared to the dregs of the last one:/