Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Tube-setting multiple stones

Default Tube-setting multiple stones

Hello!

I'm a relative newbie and have been practising tube-setting faceted stones onto rings and earrings. I've got that nailed now (phew!) but am keen to move on to making pieces with more than one stone set in this way.

My question: how would I solder more than one tube setting onto a piece? Would I do them one at a time using hard solder for the first, medium solder for the second, etc... Or is there a better way I'm missing?

Thank you so much

If it is curved as in rings, it will be best to solder one at a time, starting with the centre one and rotating to keep the base level as you go.
    You can usually start with hard for the first one, and go to easy for at lest four more, as you get further and further from the centre.
    Most of us skip medium solder, as it does not flow as well.

If you have a flat base, then solder all at one time, Dennis.

Thank you, that's exactly the kind of advice I was looking for. I've just about got to grips with hard solder (went through a real phase of it not flowing at all, just sitting there as a little lump!) but I haven't worked with medium or easy yet, so that's good to know.

I'll get some easy ordered and have a play!

Hi Helly77,
    I'd love to see how you get on. I'm new too and have just started to try this out. When I see photos of pieces that have tens of tube settings all attached to each other I can't get my head around how that's done!
    Good luck!
    Emmy

Quote Originally Posted by Embo View Post
    Hi Helly77,
    I'd love to see how you get on. I'm new too and have just started to try this out. When I see photos of pieces that have tens of tube settings all attached to each other I can't get my head around how that's done!
    Good luck!
    Emmy
    Hello Embo! The tips worked well, I managed to create a ring with three stones.... they're a tiny bit wonky but not bad for a first attempt