Thread: 14k rose gold soldering struggle - advice needed!

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Unhappy 14k rose gold soldering struggle - advice needed!

Hello all!
    I have been silversmithing (usually only silver, sometimes copper and brass) for a couple years but was recently commissioned to make a simple wedding band in 14k rose gold (with 7.8k rose gold solder).
    I'm having a lot of trouble with the join (on a plain band!! ridiculous, I know!) and it's really making me question my skill (or lack thereof?!).
    It's my first time using gold in any form, so I'm positive there are things I need to know that I didn't find in my research prior to commencing the job.
    It's quite a thick band at 1.5mm (5.5mm width) which I believe is not helping the matter, it's been increasingly hard to get two flush sides for the perfect join (any tips for this also welcome!!).
    I am welcoming any tips, tricks and advice, as I'm beginning to worry a bit! I don't want to ruin this piece of gold as I can't face a disappointed customer or the hundreds of dollars I'll lose.
    I need a win!! Please help!!

Thanks in advance,
    Elly

This should not be a struggle, so take a deep breath.

Check on a block, that the solder you have will actually flow when heated. Best to use strip and avoid paste

To match the ends, anneal the ring and push the ends together using two pliers if necessary. Do remember that removing 1.00mm of metal will reduce the ring by approximately one size, so do as little of this as possible. A ring stretcher is a great asset for making good any loss without hammer marks.

The next most common reason for failure after useless solder is that the ends of the ring pull apart when heated. You can help by tying binding wire across the ring and by heating at a place remote from the joint, until the metal becomes hot before homing in on the solder.