Thread: Looking for a safe torch to use in my home

Default Looking for a safe torch to use in my home

Hi I’m a newbie so any advice would be great.
    I have made a workbench in the corner of my dining room and have tried using a dremel torch for soldering but it is nothing like the gas/air torches we have at college. So I’m looking for a safe torch system to use at home.
    I was looking at the sievert pro torch, I understand I would have to check the joins regularly for leaks but reading about the flares worries me. As it is my mum has made me get a fire blanket and fire extinguisher just for my dremel torch.
    Could anyone recommend a system for me that works well and is safe?
    Thank you in advance xxx

Much has been said on this subject over the years, so here is a thread to start you off: https://www.cooksongold.com/forum/showthread.php?t=9439. Others can be found by putting the word 'torch' in the search box top right.

Another consideration is a safe soldering hearth, to contain hot things, such as a roasting pan, or better still the pan from a cheap barbecue with a raised back to keep your flame away from the area behind.

Lastly you should look for a patch of floor protector, such as the clear one from Ikea, because sooner or later you will drop something hot.
    https://www.ikea.com/gb/en/p/kolon-f...ctor-44881100/.

Welcome to the forum, Dennis.

Hi Hedgewick. I am also a relative newbie! I made myself a box lined with “asbestolux” or modern equivalent in which to solder. It also is the box in which I can store / keep my pickle bits and pieces plus small torch etc etc. My main torch is a propane cooksons torch which I have found sufficient so far. I keep the cylinder in a purpose made box and have made a handset holder. Yes I turn it off at the cylinder after use. I also have a fire extinguisher to hand! I have some photos ....IF I can work out how to include them!
    David ( Ruedeleglise)

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk