Thread: Best way to make a simple sterling silver cross?

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Default Best way to make a simple sterling silver cross?

Hello there,

Im a beginner, and have only just done a 1 day course in silver jewellery where i only learnt how to make a simple band ring and pendant. For my next project I want to make a simple silver cross pendant. What is the best way to make this? Do I use a silver sheet? or wire (which i would have to aneel and bend straight?).

I thought about using a 2.5mm sheet, and cutting it into 3 strips? and soldering on the 2 sides of the cross? but is there a special way to solder the sides on? I'm assuming it would be different to the way i soldered the two ends of the ring I made in class?

I've tried searching all over the internet on how to make crosses and thought there would be more instructions but I can't find anything. HELP!!

Thank you in advance!!!

Crosses can be made every which way, using round wire, square wire, rectangular wire, or sheet. The important thing is to have a design in mind.
    If wanting to straightedge wire, you anneal it, clamp one end in a vice , grip the other with pliers and stretch.

It would be best to practice with copper first, so as not to risk wasting silver.
    Finally it is a good idea to do your soldering on the reverse side, as that will end up more messy. Dennis.

Thats great Dennis! Thank you very much

Would you mind telling me what's the best way to solder? Do i still paint the borax over the joints and heat up? and after, where do I place the solder strips? (would medium be suffice?) I only know how to solder a band ring, and as the cross will be thick on all sides Im unsure how or where to stick the solder strips.

Many thanks for your help so far!

Serene

Many of us avoid medium silver solder, as it does not flow well, so its hard or easy for us.