Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Arbor Press

Default Arbor Press

I'm very new to this, in fact I haven't even started yet! I'd like to make anticlastic bracelets using 1mm aluminium.

I'd rather not hammer, so I'm looking at those Bonny Doon forming dies.

riogrande. com/Product/Bonny-Doon-Anticlastic-Bracelet-Forming-Kit/110476?Pos=11

Expensive I know, but need speed and consistency.

I'd like to use a press to work with them and I'm thinking that an arbor press will do the job.

How many tonnes of force would one of these dies require on 1mm aluminium? Normally they are 0.5 - 2 tonnes.

Also is there an alternative to Bonny Doon dies?

Hello Bode. The Bonny Doon is 20 tonnes.

Depends on the width of bracelet that you want to make, I have one of these and it works well. http://www.jewelrytoolsbymiland.com/...ti-Clastic.htm
    Takes a bit of work but doesn't mark the metal at all.

Quote Originally Posted by caroleallen View Post
    Hello Bode. The Bonny Doon is 20 tonnes.
    Yes, that's their own hydraulic press.

I want to use their dies with polyurethane on a simple arbor press instead and wanted to know if a 1/2 - 1 tonne press would have enough force on the urethane.

I've seen similar pliers Lorraine, but I'm assuming you need to try and use equal force for the length of the bracelet (just like hammering) so there is room for error/ unevenness.
    Last edited by bode; 06-02-2014 at 05:56 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by bode View Post
    I want to use their dies with polyurethane on a simple arbor press
    It's actually 'urethane' bode, a rubber like material which comes in several hardnesses and recovers its shape after compression. You will need the sustained pressure of a hydraulic press. As Carole has indicated, you will struggle to achieve much with less than 20 tonnes. Dennis.
    Last edited by Dennis; 06-02-2014 at 08:45 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Dennis View Post