PDA

View Full Version : Help needed with welding system

Ankolosova
23-07-2018, 11:05 PM
good evening... crying for help please!!! I have (do not shoot straight) roxy kit for welding. it's good but oxygent lasts abt 1-2 weeks a bottle with very little use every day... and costs a lot too!!! I am tired of it... Question one , do i use it wrongly ( I am using small nozzles to reduce amount of gas leaving ) , or question two do I need urgently to change my welding system? if yes then what could you all recommend? I have small workshop in a shed at the end of garden so not in the main house if this will affect choice! I am not technical and my husband too... so feel puzzled and lost, I am worried I will buy something totally wrong again and loose money again. i have tried to find way to use oxy turbo bottles on rothenberger but it seems impossible as system made only to be used with.really appreciate any advise. Thank you!

china
24-07-2018, 01:53 AM
To give any practical advice more information is required e.g. what are you welding/soldering, material thickness, in general the small hobby type units do not last very long.

Goldsmith
24-07-2018, 07:37 AM
Check out this gas torch; https://gasproducts.co.uk/gas-blow-torches/sievert-gas-blow-torch-kits/sievert-pro-86-jewellers-gas-blow-torch-kit.html ,it is a useful addition to your toolkit with various size changeable nozzles, that give different flame sizes and this gas torch can handle most soldering and annealing jobs.

James

enigma
24-07-2018, 08:02 AM
I had a similar kit when I was in France as I couldn't get compatible bottles for the Smiths torch there.
The oxygen doesn't last long although 1-2 weeks seems very short.
Ive since bought a Smiths torch and have it on standard large propane and oxygen cylinders which are just over 2 years old now and still have plenty in, I think the oxygen cylinder cost me around £50.