PDA

View Full Version : Keum Boo Advice

Snorkmaiden
26-09-2017, 08:17 AM
I have treated myself to some Keum Boo foil. Never seen it done though. Anyone have any advice on things like hotplates, cutting the foil, how long it takes and how to tell if it is fused? Can you cut out shapes, or is it best to go with fragments? Any recommended books? TIA

Dennis
26-09-2017, 09:21 AM
There'll be lots of advice, but ultimately you will have to experiment. I have made some test pieces, but did not go on with it, so I am no expert.

An easy hot plate to use is a small travelling iron, clamped upside down in a vice. also a domestic hot plate with a dial, so that you can settle on a temperature setting, somewhere in the top one third.

The silver to be used needs to be clean and grease free and at the ultimate state of polish, preferably satin, because the foil is too thin for any further polishing.

When the piece has reached a suitable temperature, cut out pieces of foil are laid on and burnished down, with a metal or agate burnisher until they are smooth and free of bubbles. The foil is cut with a craft knife or scalpel and handled with tweezers.

The effect is too subtle for my taste, but the most striking appearance is when you 'oxidise' it afterwards, so that the silver turns black . The gold will not be affected, so that you have a strong contrast. Dennis.

CJ57
26-09-2017, 12:41 PM
I use an old iron plate on the gas hob so it can be done on the cheap. Also use the addition of the little hand torch from underneath for items that aren't flat and need a bit more heat but this has to be done carefully so as not to melt the gold into the silver just bond. The silver has to be fine, it won't work on Sterling silver.