PDA

View Full Version : What tools do I need to work wire?

Pandanimal
14-09-2009, 05:20 PM
After my little bit of soul searching over quality this morning and all your helpful responses I have decided to take the plunge and start actually using silver and copper findings made by me.
I've never done it before so I have no idea what kit I would need to get me started and I'm hoping it won't be too costly.
If I want to make ear wires and simple clasps what would I need?

This style ear wire I would like to be able to make for myself.
CEWR12- Copper Earwires 24pieces (12 pair) - Handmade by E2SSupplies on Etsy (http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=29342281)

Or this
SEWA4- Sterling Silver Almond Earwires 8 pieces (4pr) by E2SSupplies on Etsy (http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=30728618)

Am I being too optimistic as a total noob?

And if I wanted to solder copper and silver what would I need?

Thanks in advance for your patients, there may well be a lot more questions coming from here in the near future!

Emerald
14-09-2009, 06:16 PM
Hi Pandanimal,

the tools i personally use every day and wouldent be without are

Snipe nosed pliers
half round pliers, these dont mark the metal and
flat nosed pliers preferably two pairs for jump rings
a selction of needlefiles, to smooth the end of earwires you will just need a flat one
a good pair of metal shears, worth spending some money on these

medium, easy solder
small torch 19.99 from cooksons
flux
saftey pickle although there have been a couple of post on this and you can use other things aswell

i wouldent use anything over 08 for earwires some of those that you linked to looked awfully thick

hope this helps and i am sure other members will add to the list of things i have forgotten or that they use to:D

The Bijou Dragon
14-09-2009, 06:25 PM
To make those ear wires I use a piece of cheap wooden dowell, a pair of memory wire cutters (as they cut flushly) and a pair of round nose pliers.