PDA

View Full Version : First time working with gold

Debbie K
06-03-2017, 04:59 PM
Hello :)

I’ve been asked by a customer who bought some earrings from me to quote for a set of 20 18K gold bangles made from 1mm wire, to be worn together as a stack. I’m a largely self-taught jewellery maker usually using wire wrapping techniques, but I have taken silversmithing courses and I solder and do some basic stone setting. I’ve never worked with gold, and I don’t usually make bangles, so I have told my customer these things, but have researched the gold cost for her. I also made a bangle of the right size in sterling silver, so I could give her an idea of how long it might reasonably take to make 20 similar bangles — even if it's not me that makes them. I’ve basically been trying to help her out with info but not really intending to make the bangles myself, as I have felt I’m not the best qualified person she would be able to find — in fact, I was surprised to be asked. However, she still wants me to make them.

The silver bangle was easy to make and didn’t take long, so I hope gold would be similarly easy. But I have a few concerns and I wondered if someone would be kind enough to advise me?

Will gold and gold solder behave similarly to sterling and silver solder when it comes to soldering?

Will I be able to work harden 1mm gold wire bangles sufficiently for them to be durable and not constantly deform in use? My instinct would be to make bangles not much thinner than 1.5mm, and if using silver I would prefer to hammer them to work harden and then put in my jewellery tumbler for several hours. Will tumbling to harden be effective with gold? If my customer doesn’t want the bangles hammered, I'm concerned about whether 1mm gold wire can be made hard enough.

Is there anything else I would need to know about making these bangles that I’m missing?

Finally, I’d be really grateful for an idea of how long you think this job should take?