PDA

View Full Version : Keum Boo

caroleallen
13-09-2009, 10:49 AM
I've never done this before so would appreciate some advice please.

If I make a "pillowed" piece as a brooch, at what stage should I apply the gold, ie before or after I solder the fittings on the back?

If I've already attached the fittings, how would I sit the piece on the hot plate without it rocking?

If I attach the fittings at the end wouldn't this affect the gold?

Would it be better to make the keum boo bit and set it onto the back plate at the end?

MuranoSilver
13-09-2009, 11:14 AM
If I make a "pillowed" piece as a brooch, at what stage should I apply the gold, ie before or after I solder the fittings on the back?
Ideally soldering is done on a piece before the keum-boo is done. It is possible to solder on a piece after you’ve applied the gold, but too much heat can cause the gold to diffuse into the surface and visually disappear.

If I've already attached the fittings, how would I sit the piece on the hot plate without it rocking?

Difficult this as Ive got an ultralite with kuem boo disks I dont have the problem (one is dished for curved pieces) could you make a similar dished receptacle which sat between the piece and the hotplate?

If I attach the fittings at the end wouldn't this affect the gold?
Would it be better to make the keum boo bit and set it onto the back plate at the end?

Quite easy to affect the gold if soldering done after, but i found the perfect article for you in Lapidary Journal mag :)
Jewelry Artist Project: Keum-boo Pillow Pendant (http://www.lapidaryjournal.com/stepbystep/aug04.cfm)
nic x

caroleallen
13-09-2009, 12:21 PM
Oh thanks Nic, that is the perfect article. Next question. What would you use as fire coat?

caroleallen
13-09-2009, 12:29 PM