PDA

View Full Version : thinking of buying a scorper and would like some advice

Patricia 71
02-01-2017, 06:55 PM
Hi all and Happy New Year. I’m thinking of buying a scorper to set stones, but I’ve never used one before and could do with some advice. I’m making bezel set rings using a push stick to set the stones, but they’re not coming out as neatly as I’d like. I’m getting some ragged edges and spending a crazy amount of time emery papering away tool marks. I’m sure there’s a better way to do this, so I’d really welcome your responses.

I’ve already learned a lot from discussions on this site, e.g. that 0.4mm fine silver sheet is better than ready-made bezel strip (I haven’t tried this yet) and that bevelling the top of the bezel gives a neater edge (this has really helped). I will also try protecting the bezel from tool marks using a piece of suede, as I saw someone on here suggest.

Ultimately, I think I need to invest in a motorised tool (I’m also finding it hard to use enough force with the push stick to close minute gaps without damaging anything, but that’s another issue), but for the moment I’m wondering if a scorper would help to create a neater edge. But it's not so straightforward: I see from Cookson’s site that I will also need an Arkansas sharpening block and a handle, and that I will need to size, mount and sharpen it myself. Would a scorper be easy to prepare and use for someone who’s never used one before? Also, there are several different types, so which one is best for setting stones in rings? Or perhaps there's some other tool I should be using.

T.I.A.!

Patricia

Faith
02-01-2017, 08:23 PM
Hi Patricia,

Happy New Year!

You might find this thread: http://www.cooksongold.com/forum/showthread.php?t=8048&highlight=Faith+pesky+bezels helpful to have a read of, it's long sorry! Where I had the same problem.