PDA

View Full Version : Setting Marquise into a new piece

belastadesigns
26-12-2016, 12:14 PM
A family member has asked me to set Marquise stones into a new Sterling silver stacking ring I've to make for her but I've never dealt with this shape of stone before, and especially not one so small.

Does anyone have any advise on how to deal with this. I am confident in Bezel but I'm still learning all my techniques so this will be a new adventure for me.

Thanks

josef1
26-12-2016, 12:51 PM
Make sure you cut a relief into the claw where the stone fits this can be done with a small burr the points are prone to breaking so try and get them away from the metal

metalsmith
26-12-2016, 01:13 PM
How do you propose ... claw, flush or bezel?

x2 Josef1

enigma
26-12-2016, 01:30 PM
Be very careful of the points, they tend to be rather fragile.
What stones are you going to use?

Aurarius
26-12-2016, 08:45 PM
A family member has asked me to set Marquise stones into a new Sterling silver stacking ring I've to make for her but I've never dealt with this shape of stone before, and especially not one so small.

Can you tell us what the picture is of?

belastadesigns
27-12-2016, 07:50 AM
Hi all,
Thanks for all the comments.

The picture Inc in my original post is the ring which contains the Marquise diamonds.
Sadly my aunt can no longer wear this ring but instead of getting this stretched, she would like the diamonds used in a new stacking ring she has asked me to make her.

It's not my first Upcycle but is the first diamond and also tiny stone situation,

I was thinking bezelled but just seeing if anyone had any advice on how to remove (thanks Josef1) or if an alternative setting would be best for these tiny little stones

Thanks and hope everyone had a lovely festive period x

metalsmith
27-12-2016, 09:30 AM
Hi all,