PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Silverspinner

Silver Spinner
06-12-2016, 12:12 AM
Hello everyone,
My background is silver spinning small items in light gauges, based around the Birmingham area. I am hoping to add more detail to some of my items with some twisted wire work, as well as advice on soldering more delicate items. Is there anybody local who could help?
thanks, Paul.

Dennis
06-12-2016, 02:32 AM
We would love to learn more about spinning. In return most of us can trouble shoot soldering of delicate items, once you can post pictures. Welcome to the forum, Dennis.

metalsmith
06-12-2016, 07:25 AM
+1 on wishing to hear about your spinning.
Welcome to the forum

CJ57
06-12-2016, 11:47 AM
I had to google spinning and you would be amazed at how many spinner rings came up and not the actual, I thought terrifying, process of spinning silver. Will also be interested to see this

ps_bond
06-12-2016, 11:49 AM
Likewise - it's on my to-do list as a way of forming mokume gane vessels, I just need to build up some tooling to do it. I'm aware that an ML7 isn't the best solution, but it's what's available to me.

Goldsmith
06-12-2016, 12:00 PM
Welcome Paul,
I am a trade trained goldsmith and know about spinning, I was taught how to do it by Henry Pierce. I am now retired, but when I needed large silver spinnings for parts of my my table centre epergnes my friend Stefan Coe helped me out, luckily Stefan has a workshop nearby. I only did small spinning jobs for myself like the mount on the top of this flower vase, spun in gold before being engine turned.

James

Silver Spinner
06-12-2016, 11:42 PM
Thanks very much for you replies, I had a quick search of Youtube and the nearest i could find was this [ Hand Metal Spinning a Pewter Baby Cup on a Lathe ]