PDA

View Full Version : Help for beginner

KrisH
01-12-2016, 08:43 AM
Hello everyone!

Could anyone please help me with a question that's been bugging me for a while? I'm a complete beginner but have a particular interest in Viking-type jewellery which often seems to have some kind of bonding (?) between wires to hold the shape typically black in colour like this example:9623

Is it some kind of resin or glue or solder even? Any advice/help would be much appreciated!

Cheers

ps_bond
01-12-2016, 09:02 AM
I'd expect it to be soldered, then either deliberately oxidised (with liver of sulphur, Platinol or similar) or allowed to tarnish and the high spots polished back.

china
01-12-2016, 12:13 PM
Looks to me like it may just be painted

Dennis
01-12-2016, 02:00 PM
Yes you can make that in the flat and then bend it around a ring mandrel.
There is something to be said for both answers above, because some members use a waterproof pen for adding black in grooves or letters.
However, if painted, why bother to do the inside? Dennis.

china
01-12-2016, 02:27 PM
Good point, just looks like it is painted from the pic

metalsmith
01-12-2016, 06:51 PM
... However, if painted, why bother to do the inside? Dennis.

For the dark Viking atmospheric photo?

KrisH
02-12-2016, 02:46 PM
First of all, thank you very much for the replies! Can I just ask, if it's solder isn't that too big of a gap to fill? Or is that down to type of solder/technique? Please excuse my ignorance!
Cheers

Wallace
02-12-2016, 03:27 PM
First of all, thank you very much for the replies! Can I just ask, if it's solder isn't that too big of a gap to fill? Or is that down to type of solder/technique? Please excuse my ignorance!
Cheers