PDA

View Full Version : Brush cleaning PMC

Faith
17-05-2016, 03:52 PM
Hello,
In an unrelated project to my other recent post, I've been asked to make a silver PMC fingerprint pendant for a friend (I've never used PMC before otherwise). I test fired a tiny bit of PMC3 (about 1mm x 6mm x 6mm) and cleaned it with a wet brass brush. It was hard to hold the tiny test bit of silver so I didn't do the brushing actually underwater, the brush was just wet - and I didn't use soap or anything. The bit of silver looks distinctly browny to me now though - and I have just read about brass contamination? My question is, should I buy a steel brush to avoid getting bits of brass embedded in the PMC, or did I just do the brushing wrong?
Many thanks,
Faith

Dennis
17-05-2016, 09:21 PM
A steel bush will score your silver, but a wet brass brush with a drop or two of hand soap should be OK.

Once marked however, something stronger such as pumice powder (domestic scouring powder) on a toothbrush, would be needed to remove the brass deposit. Dennis.

Faith
17-05-2016, 09:57 PM
Thanks Dennis, the tiny test bit is for the scrap pot but I'll try again with soap and see how it goes.