PDA

View Full Version : Blue Topaz



glitterandgem
14-01-2016, 09:01 PM
Hi guys I have just bought a load of facetted Blue Topaz and am finding it hard to get the pictures right , the stones are coming out darker than they are how can i rectify this

Dennis
14-01-2016, 10:00 PM
Here are some suggestions:

1.Improve the lighting by adding another lamp, or by using daylight, for instance on a windowsill.
2.Indoors use a sparkler. You can improvise by using a torch or table lamp, with ten or so LEDs, provided it is of similar colour temperature to your main lighting.
3.If you have a camera and are shooting on white increase the exposure compensation.
4.Change the colour intensity and/or saturation with a simple editing programme. Some come free.

However, most gemstone dealers list three colours for blue topaz: Sky blue, Swiss blue and London blue. Which is yours? Dennis.

glitterandgem
15-01-2016, 11:57 AM
its a very subtle light blue

glitterandgem
15-01-2016, 12:02 PM
almost clear comes from pakistan I am just waiting to hear what mine

Dennis
15-01-2016, 12:39 PM
Pale blue is one of the natural colours, but most people go for the darker blues produced by irradiation.

LydiaNiz
15-01-2016, 06:50 PM
Lightbox underneath the stones?

samsmith1337
14-12-2017, 07:44 PM
Simple daylight should help you

jay-ell
27-02-2020, 08:39 AM
Hi guys I have just bought a load of facetted Blue Topaz and am finding it hard to get the pictures right , the stones are coming out darker than they are how can i rectify this

Hi. Are you still having problems with this?

If so what is your current set up? Are you using daylight or artificial lights? What is the white balance setting in the camera? What about the camera colour profile - are you using any? Are you editing the JPEG or the raw photo? What software are you using to edit the photos?

It could be that the white balance isn't right. Make sure that the white balance setting matches the light source. You could take one photo with a white balance card in the shot and use this photo to set the white balance in your editor.

Or the levels for the mids might be off - you can use a levels adjustment to change where the mid level is to see if this works.

ps_bond
27-02-2020, 08:52 AM
Again, this is a 4 year old thread.

J Allison
27-02-2020, 10:04 AM
Just about to say that Peter lol, beat me to it