PDA

View Full Version : Oh flux!

squeekysqueeks
11-01-2016, 02:28 PM
Hello everyone

Sorry about the title :)

I've been making silver jewellery for a few years but only on and off so I still feel like a beginner. Till now I have been using the borax cone and dish for my flux, but this is getting on my nerves. Can anyone recommend an easier and/or quicker way of fluxing? Which do people prefer?

Any advice is greatly appreciated.

many thanks

Jill

enigma
11-01-2016, 02:58 PM
I prefer Auflux, seems to work just as well but without the faff.

squeekysqueeks
11-01-2016, 03:08 PM
Thanks Enigma, I shall look into it.

pearlescence
11-01-2016, 03:25 PM
Yes Auflux. Been using it for more than 20 years (yikes)
Recommend that you decant a small amount into a small pill box sized sort of airtight container as and when you need it because it does evaporate and putting the brush into the big bottle is also a faff (esp when you drop the brush into the bottle) I use one of the tiny plastic pill boxes I supply French wire in, then I can dip some items in directly or use tweezers for the pallions instead of a brush, and that is easier too

squeekysqueeks
11-01-2016, 03:34 PM
Excellent advice, many thanks Pearlescence. Looking forward to having 20 years of experience myself! :)

Goldsmith
11-01-2016, 03:58 PM
I have used a borax cone and dish for over 50 years now and see no reason to change. It's simple, cheap and relatively safe. May I ask why you don't like using it Jill?

James
James Miller FIPG.

squeekysqueeks
11-01-2016, 04:31 PM
I'm afraid I must be a little lazy and was looking for something less 'faffy' :(

ps_bond
11-01-2016, 04:55 PM
I had been using Auflux, but I ended up going back to the borax cone as it stays on the metal better.

enigma
11-01-2016, 05:49 PM
Yes its lazy, very definitely, I can't think of any other reason for using it as it certainly doesn't perform better.
But anything that speeds up things is good for me :)

TeeDee
11-01-2016, 05:52 PM