PDA

View Full Version : Hello!

AmA
25-12-2015, 11:58 PM
Hi - I'm Am. I'm a newbie to posting on the forum. Been getting lots of useful info from the posts here over the last couple of years so figured I'd register. And then a month after registering I remembered I hadn't even said hi!

I've been making jewellery of various sorts off and on for years and I've started getting serious about it again. I work with silver and copper, some semi precious stones (my soft spots are for turquoise and amber), and beads of all sorts (currently very much into replica ago saxon and viking beads). I did some basic metalworking at school way back when, otherwise I've taught myself from books and the internet.

I will need to get around to actually setting myself up to sell the stuff though (and find people to give it to ;-) ) - I love making jewellery, but am not that fussed about wearing it. Which I know is weird.

Dennis
26-12-2015, 03:37 AM
Hello AmA, and welcome. Please don't go back to lurking, but show us what you make.

You will get much more satisfaction seeing it worn by others, or by selling it, so you must develop a customer base if only of sorts.

You will also get satisfaction from upping your game, so that you see a steady improvement in workmanship and design. This means browsing jewellers windows, galleries, craft shops, exhibitions, museums and of course the web.

Most of all, if you can, join a class. There is nothing more salutary than seeing what others at your stage can get up to. Lastly a good teacher will challenge you to go the extra mile and provide projects outside your comfort zone. Dennis.

ajda
26-12-2015, 08:41 AM