PDA

View Full Version : Can you pickle and solder diamond earings?

Louise
27-10-2015, 12:44 AM
I am new to making jewellery and so far I have had great success, how ever a friend asked me to try and repair her earings as the post fell off. We are unsure of metal and stone as they were a gift and are unhallmarked. I was going to try and solder on a silver post. But worried about the stone etc. Will I just cover it in thermal gel before heating, also is it safe to pickle or tumble?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

marna
27-10-2015, 01:55 AM
I would be really, really wary of going near a mystery-stone in a mystery-metal, in case I ended up with a puddle of melty metal embedded with glassy splinters.

If they're unhallmarked, though, you could try weighing them and seeing if they *should* be hallmarked (minus a guess for the stone, I suppose) - that might help you eliminate them being gold, at least?

Dennis
27-10-2015, 03:10 AM
Newbies are always being flattered into accepting a poisoned chalice. Treasure your friendship and politely decline. Dennis.

ps_bond
27-10-2015, 07:25 AM
You don't know what the metal is, how are you certain what the stone is?
Per Dennis' suggestion - avoid it.

Louise
27-10-2015, 09:50 AM
Yeah prob best, but as a rule what happens to stones if they are in the pickle or under heat?

metalsmith
27-10-2015, 01:37 PM
Yeah prob best, but as a rule what happens to stones if they are in the pickle or under heat?