PDA

View Full Version : Hallmarks...required if item isn't "sold"?

Chris Moody
16-10-2015, 02:06 PM
Hello all

I'm a hobbyist silversmith, only making items that fall within the exemption weights for sale.

However, for work, I am making a silver "trophy" which is going to be a little heavier than the exemption weight.

My question is, does the item still need hallmarking if it technically isn't being sold? It's a prize, so in theory the winner has paid for it through hard work, but no cash is exchanging hands.

Dennis
16-10-2015, 02:47 PM
Hi Chris,
I would say that it is not obligatory to hallmark this trophy, but the hallmark would greatly enhance its perceived value. So much so, that without it the recipient might well wonder whether he has been given a cheapo plated job. Dennis.

pearlescence
16-10-2015, 04:25 PM
You can always ask someone with a registration to put it through for you?
Ah, if only Steve were here...I seem to remember that items can be assayed and marked by the assay office itself, no sponsor mark

BarryM
17-10-2015, 07:39 AM
You can always ask someone with a registration to put it through for you?
Ah, if only Steve were here...I seem to remember that items can be assayed and marked by the assay office itself, no sponsor mark

I am fairly sure that a registered sponsor cannot put someone else's work through as their own - nothing to prevent you physically doing this but I think it is actually illegal. There is a thread somewhere in this forum about it.

Goldsmith
17-10-2015, 08:20 AM
I am fairly sure that a registered sponsor cannot put someone else's work through as their own - nothing to prevent you physically doing this but I think it is actually illegal. There is a thread somewhere in this forum about it.