PDA

View Full Version : Diamond cutting on silver

Janie
29-08-2015, 07:09 PM
Hi there, I am hoping someone can help me. I'm a newbie to jewellery making but I really want to be able to put the sparkly diamond cut onto my silver pieces as I love the way it looks. Does anyone know how I do this and what tools I will need? Desperately been searching online but found nothing to help me. Then I remembered I had joined this forum so I'm hoping all you experts can help me.... thank you in advance... Janie

Dennis
29-08-2015, 10:24 PM
The best way to do this is probably learning hand engraving. However what you might be thinking about is diamond fly wheel cutters.

I have never been tempted to try them as they are eyewateringly expensive and need some skill if you are not going to break them at the first attempt.

http://www.goldschmiedebedarf.de/search.php?queryFromSuggest=&goldschmiedebedarf_en=channel&query=3655

Fishers warn you of this and suggest that you practice using a hard metal fly wheel first. My 2012 printed catalogue quotes 3655/U, but I can't find that on line.

Dennis.

ajda
30-08-2015, 06:48 AM
It might depend on what you are making and what effects you are trying to achieve. Could you say more about the kind of pieces you might be working on and the kind of finish you want? Then maybe those with knowledge and expertise in specific areas will be better able to advise.