PDA

View Full Version : Jewellery Light Box

caroleallen
25-03-2015, 07:44 AM
Does anyone have one of these or know anything about this sort of lighting system? http://www.cooksongold.com/Jewellery-Tools/Jewellery-Photography-Light-Box---Small-prcode-997-1203

I'm going to have a completely new all singing, all dancing website and of course, my photography is letting me down. I've found a good photographer (I think) who is going to do some lifestyle type test shots for me but the cost for a day's shoot is eye watering. I'm thinking that I may get her to do the main images for each item and take the rest myself.

I'm a hopeless photographer, so need all the help I can get. I take all my photos using the automatic macro setting, which I know isn't helping. Everything has to be lifestyle and I'm just using some small coloured wooden bricks as props. I'm not sure whether those light boxes are designed for such images.

Goldsmith
25-03-2015, 08:39 AM
May I ask what camera you use Carole? I must admit that I have never used a light box so I cannot help you there, I take all of my photos using white and coloured cards to direct the light. If I was suggesting a decent small reasonably cheap camera I would suggest taking a look at the Panasonic Lumix FZ200, I use an older Lumix FZ45, both cameras have a Leica lens.

I took this photo of a butterfly sitting on a Magnolia bloom on Monday using my Lumix FZ45, not jewellery but it gives an idea of the quality of the Leica lens.

James

Melanie
25-03-2015, 08:53 AM
we have one of these and love it. Prob not as good as having a pro photographer but then couldn't afford the time or money that that would take! We pop small props in ours for lifestyle photos and it works fine :) We also use the macro setting on our camera too (although this is more hubby's department than mine!).

caroleallen
25-03-2015, 11:02 AM