PDA

View Full Version : Inside Bangle holder??

camalidesign
12-02-2015, 09:22 AM
Hi all,

I make a bangle that has a number of set stones around it in little collets, but my problem is how to hold the bangle while cutting seats and setting the stones! Is there such a thing as an "inside bangle holder" just like there is for rings? My vise isn't big/deep enough so I risk breaking stones and marking the bangle badly every time I do this, which is not good and very nervous... I have attached a pic of the bangle in question but I guess this goes for a lot of similar jobs.

Any ideas, gang?! :)

Carin

Goldsmith
12-02-2015, 09:42 AM
Carin, I made this engravers wooden clamp way back when I was an apprentice, so it has lasted me for over 50 years, I used it the last time I had bangles to engrave patterns on, it might be worth considering.

James

enigma
12-02-2015, 10:28 AM
Love those bangles!
I put mine on the bangle mandrel and rest it on a sandbag to set stones, not ideal but works ok.

Dennis
12-02-2015, 11:52 AM
Wind electrical tape or masking tape around a rolling pin, until the bangle can be wedged on. Then you will have an inside bangle holder.

Dennis.

mizgeorge
12-02-2015, 12:57 PM
I do much the same as Dennis, or use my lovely GRS vice, which is fab for this sort of thing, though I do use a piece of leather to protect the silver from the jaws.

Lovely to see you Carin - hope all's well!

camalidesign
12-02-2015, 02:17 PM
Hi all!

I knew I would get lots of helpful suggestions here! :)

James, I love all your custom tools and things you've made over the years! Thanks for the tip, looks good and could then be held in a normal vice for stability I guess.

Enigma, thanks! Sounds OK but I think I need something which can be "hands free" so I can set those stones well.

Dennis, love your Blue Peter idea! :) Not sure why I haven't thought of that myself! Again, I guess that the pin could then be held in a large vice, but not sure how stable that would be.