PDA

View Full Version : Polishing Green Agate

Londoner2015
08-02-2015, 04:42 PM
Hi all. I did a degree in jewellery 20 years, and just getting back into it. However, I never really spent much time on setting stones. So… the first cabochon setting i tried, ended up marking the stone. I've looked at the forum and can't find the best way to polish up dull stones. There was mention of Polygold 2000, but couldn't find it for sale. Any advice? I have a pendant motor, and a desk polishing motor with mops, so i guess i just need to know what polish to use. Thanks so much :">

Tabby66
08-02-2015, 06:02 PM
The polygold is available here http://www.goldschmiedebedarf.de/product_info.php?products_id=11231 and does work very well.

metalsmith
08-02-2015, 06:06 PM
You might be set on refurbishing this piece, but green agate ... is it worth the hassle? If, now it is set, the answer is yes, then a previous thread here may help:
http://www.cooksongold.com/forum/archive/index.php?t-6408.html

Welcome along btw :)

Londoner2015
08-02-2015, 11:28 PM
Thanks so much to you both. And yes, the stone is cheap so why bother I guess. I'm just anticipating more errors before I get it right. Thank you for the links :)

metalsmith
09-02-2015, 06:05 AM
Thanks so much to you both. And yes, the stone is cheap so why bother I guess. I'm just anticipating more errors before I get it right. Thank you for the links :)

I'm in a similar position, wrt starting out and making mistakes, so I'm using stones which are affordably replaced. I've only ruined one to date :^o ... ok two! But then I've budgeted for making a few mistakes as a cost for the learning curve.

Unless it has a certain 'way-up' you could reset it upside down. Alternatively if you have a polisher you could either chuck it in there to re-polish or save it for a rainy day when #-o you're 'mistakes' stash has grown (slowly we hope) to the point of making the spend on the polishing compound worthwhile.

Dennis
09-02-2015, 09:48 AM