PDA

View Full Version : Making Brooch pins with added safety in mind.

blackbear
27-12-2014, 03:38 PM
I have a number of solid silver Celtic brooches ( NOT Pennanulars) The pin assembleys need refurbishing. I would like to find a solid type assembley that includes a safety unit. The modern bought types are so flimsey they just fall apart.
I have checked out what is available in some of my books e.g. Charles Jarvis, Peter Bagley, Tim McCreight. Alas I cannot find anything solid there. Can anyone suggest where I can get quality assembleys or better still a book or DVD that shows various different types that I can use or redesign and make myself. I am self taught and my main achievements in silver have been making and dressing Scottish Dirks with sllver mounts and Gemstones. I am nearly 80 now and have always found this
forum a wealth of knowledge . So here's hoping for a lead to success. Happy New Year to you all. Regards Blackbear. :snowman:

Dennis
27-12-2014, 05:31 PM
Hi Black Bear.
Silver is not very strong for pins, although you can harden the wire by twisting it if you prefer. The alternative is to use stainless steel wire , which is permitted on hall marked items.
My preference is for 0.8mm stainless steel wire fom KC Smith.

The choice is to buy the hinge finding and barrel catch ready made and assemble them as per my first picture, the pin being held with a rivet. Or make you own findings.

A bit of experimentation and you will soon get it right. Dennis.

Dennis
27-12-2014, 08:09 PM
As you haven't come back yet, I thought I would add this:
http://www.cooksongold.com/Findings/Sterling-Silver-Brooch-Safety-Chain-prcode-NVC-010

Moon Willow
27-12-2014, 09:53 PM
I have a number of solid silver Celtic brooches ( NOT Pennanulars) The pin assembleys need refurbishing. I would like to find a solid type assembley that includes a safety unit. The modern bought types are so flimsey they just fall apart.