PDA

View Full Version : Easy question marking out ring for drilling

stevem099
18-12-2014, 12:12 PM
Hi all. I'm very new to all this and I'm currently trying to make my first ring. It's a simple band in which I want to set 3 stones, same size equal distances apart... Do you think I can do it! I'm just wondering how you guys mark out and if you have any tips as every time I think it looks right once I open holes out to 2mm you can notice there uneven..any simple solutions?
Many thanks
Steve

enigma
18-12-2014, 12:37 PM
I actually work by eye because Im lazy but you could use dividers.

Nick martin
18-12-2014, 12:43 PM
Dividers, or a sharp scribe for marking out. As for the drilling, if accuracy is key then don't use a Dremel!

Also make a small divot with a scribe or a punch for which to place the drill bit into so it doesn't slip.

You need to use a drill where you can carefully control the speed ( therefore the accuracy ) such as a Pendant motor / micro motor.

Nick

Goldsmith
18-12-2014, 01:05 PM
As Nick says use dividers.
First mark a centre line around the ring where you want the stones, marking with the dividers, then mark where you want the central stone and I use an automatic centre punch to make this mark on the centre line. I use one of these; http://www.amazon.co.uk/eclipse-65-171R-automatic-centre-punch/dp/B0043YHBEW/ref=sr_1_6?ie=UTF8&qid=1418907164&sr=8-6&keywords=centre+punch+automatic
When you have the centre marked set the dividers to the distance you want the stones apart, use dividers like these;http://www.amazon.co.uk/100mm-Easy-Adjusting-Spring-Divider/dp/B00H4BWJ0M/ref=sr_1_fkmr2_1?s=diy&ie=UTF8&qid=1418907410&sr=1-1-fkmr2&keywords=4+inch+engineers+dividers