PDA

View Full Version : What have I got myself into?

luke1990
04-12-2014, 10:32 AM
Hello everyone. I’m Luke from the UK & I’m just about to enter your world of jewellery making for the first time! I am a complete beginner & have been lurking the forum as I’ve found it an invaluable resource. You all seem like a very helpful bunch & I hope to get to know you better & eventually help contribute to the forum as I build my knowledge base.

I’ve been wanting to make my own jewellery for a while & have started acquiring tools to help me get off the ground. This leads me back to my thread title. What the hell have I got myself into? There are endless amounts of tools & machinery out there and I’m straying into uncomfortable levels of expenditure. I have read other posts & the best advice seems to be to get only the tools for the initial projects you intend to make, then grow from there. So I’ve thrown my huge list out and restarted.

I have thought about projects & I’ve decided to go the lost wax casting route. I intend to have wax’s of pendants with various patterns produced using 3d printing, have them cast in silver using a casting service then finish them myself by oxidising the recesses and polishing the rest to a high shine. From what I can gather I will need to learn the following skills:

- Cutting & grinding the sprues off the casted piece.
- Filing
- Cleaning up
- Polishing
- Patination

I would really appreciate your input on my new improved reduced tool list in respect to the above project.

- 3" Adjustable Saw Frame
- Vallorbe Saw Blades Grade 2/0, Bundle Of 12
- Vallorbe Saw Blades Grade 4, Bundle Of 12
- Vallorbe Saw Blades Grade 5/0, Bundle Of 12

- Half Round Pliers 130mm, Plain Pliers
- Flat Nose Pliers With Nylon Jaws, Cookson Value Range

- Wooden File Handle x 5
- Vallorbe 6"/150mm Flat File, Cut 2
- Vallorbe 6"/150mm Half Round File, Slim, Cut 0
- Set Of 6 Economy Needle Files, 16cm - All Cut 2
- Needle File Handle

Extras’s

- Bench Peg & Anvil