PDA

View Full Version : Very First Hinge .. and oval stone .. and riveting..

emsterv
11-11-2014, 12:51 AM
I'm fairly new to metalsmithing so there's lots of learning to do. This is the first stone I've set that hasn't been round. I hand formed the bezel and only after finishing the piece realized I could have possibly formed a round bezel with the correct length and then tried to compress it to oval in my vice and then tuned up the shape to be exact. Dur. :(| It was a pain to fit - I can only imaging what trial a truly oddly shaped stone could be.

I also bought a few gravers and after sharpening them as best I could (not great, but alright for the first time perhaps?) I tried bright cutting the stone which as you can see in the pictures didn't go to well!

Lastly I tried riveting for the first time and realized that the silver wire was just too soft to hold up to the riveting. Either that or I should have held it a different way since the wire started to buckle as I riveted. I'd originally intended to make them invisible rivets but as you can see that didn't work out.

The patina needs a touchup too. But I was so excited about doing a fully functioning HINGE I had to post it.

Its sterling silver and a labradorite stone.

Dennis
11-11-2014, 10:26 AM
Hi Emily, you have made a very interesting piece, but here are a few pointers that might help for next time. The easiest way to shape and adjust bezels is with a bezel mandrel. They come in various shapes, and the best bargain is a set from Proops: http://www.proopsbrothers.com/set-x-6-bezel-mandrels-1759-p.asp

You found setting this bezel tough and I guess it could have been a little thinner. Also making it from fine silver sheet, or ordering the width ready cut helps.

As far a rivets are concerned, it is best to countersink each end of the row of knuckles by making a saucer shape with a round burr.