PDA

View Full Version : Drill help

ruby
31-08-2009, 07:05 PM
Hi all,

I'm a complete newbie and could do with some advice from all you experts.

I've just starting to get into jewellery making and build up my toolkit, and I'm a bit confused about what kind of drill to get. There seem to be three on the cooksons website very similar in price (approx £40) but I can't really tell the difference between them! Which of these is best for a beginner?

Also, do these kits contain what I need to polish pieces properly or do I need the additional polishing kit?

Any advice gratefully received :)

Thanks,

ruby

mizgeorge
31-08-2009, 07:21 PM
It depends on what sort of drilling you want to do to be honest. For making holes, I used a hand drill (archimedes and bow types) until I could afford to get a proper pendant drill. I have a dremel (a valentine's present from my OH about 10 years ago!) but really only use it only for cutting coils of wire.

If you want to use any drill for polishing, I would try to get one with a foot control at the very least, you seem to run out of fingers otherwise! I've always found it rather complicated to have to set the speed with one switch and then switch on and off with another, rather than having variable control. I can't actually see what's included in the kits, but I think the polishing kit is on the expensive side to start out with. I still haven't got half the stuff in it :) There again, I enjoy polishing by hand, so perhaps I'm missing out on something.

I think there people around with the hobby drills though, so I'm sure one of them will be along to help :)

Can I also say welcome to the forum - you'll find lots of lovely helpful people around in just about every style of jewellery making you could ask for.

Emerald
31-08-2009, 07:29 PM
The Drill in Cooksons looks a really good price and you seem to get a lot with it i have a variable speed and up to know have had no problems :Y:

bustagasket
31-08-2009, 07:43 PM