PDA

View Full Version : Filing bezels and rings

klevellcaine
25-10-2014, 08:13 AM
Morning all,

I'm looking for help again. I'm a self-learner, so I don't have a background with all the tools and much of what I do is trial and error.

I've been soldering for a few months now and seem to have the basics down, but I am still having real trouble filing the two ends of my bezels and rings flat. I am certain that nowadays when a solder fails, it's because the join is not completely flush. It seems to take an age for me to try to get things level. I even bought a mitre jig, but of course that doesn't help when I'm trying to join up a circle - the interior edges touch, but the exterior ones don't. I've recently been trying to file with a thin nail emery board slipped in between the two ends - that sort of seems to work - but it takes even longer.

I've searched the net, but all I see is "make sure the ends are flush". No-one ever explains how. I'd really like to see a video or photos of the process. I'd also like some reassurance that it's not just me that can waste 30 mins to an hour trying to get the damn things flush. I only have a cheap set of nail files - is that the problem? Or is it that I'm not holding the piece correctly? I still don't really know how to file against the bench pin.

As you can see, any help (or reassurance) would really be appreciated.

Thanks in advance,

Karen

caroleallen
25-10-2014, 08:18 AM
Hi Karen. When cutting a piece of wire for a ring or a bezel, I normally hold the piece so that my saw blade makes contact across the width of it, if that makes sense. I then rub the ends lightly on a piece of sandpaper to take off any burrs but not to remove any metal. After bending the ring so that the 2 ends meet, I saw through the cut which gives a good join.

enigma
25-10-2014, 09:06 AM
Soham has several videos on bezels which you may fine helpful- heres the first but if you scroll through his video list there are many more: