PDA

View Full Version : gold on silver

Kate George
06-10-2014, 03:03 PM
Hi guys

I've just purchased a beautiful aqua marine cabochon and I'm thinking it would look lovely in a gold bezel setting on a sterling silver ring....I'm pretty experienced in silver but I've never worked with gold before and would love it if any one has a tips on how I would go about doing this....I'm thinking I could make the bezel using gold bezel strip and soldering that to a sterling backing as you won't see the back as the ring will be thicker than the stone and that I should just use silver solder.....I'm a bit unsure about how the metals will heat together and obviously don't want to melt the gold as it is so expensive... Any help would be greatly appreciated :-)

theresa
06-10-2014, 03:46 PM
The first time I used gold it practically disappeared into the silver being only 9ct!
I now know to use high carat for best results which also means expensive!
That's why it is only a dream at the moment.
I am sure the other more experienced members will answer your question Kate.

Kate George
06-10-2014, 03:48 PM
Lol that's what I'm afraid of... Thanks for your reply :-)

enigma
06-10-2014, 04:28 PM
I hesitate to comment given that Im a total novice but I haven't had any problems using 9ct gold wire and bezel strip on silver rings.
Ive used both silver solder and gold solder depending whether the surrounding area is mostly silver or gold- so gold on the bezel seam then silver to solder it on.
I found the biggest problem is pushing the gold into shape for a bezel as its much harder than fine silver so I used gentle taps on a pusher with a hammer.

This was 9ct rose gold 0.5mm sheet for the bezel and 0.8mm wire for the smaller ones:

Now hopefully somebody who knows what they are doing will come along :D

Kate George
06-10-2014, 04:33 PM
That ring is beautiful..thanks for your reply....think I'm just gonna have to bite the bullet and take a chance

Dennis
06-10-2014, 07:35 PM